chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Maren's Profile
Maren's family
Maren
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
27
homeHousehold Size:
7
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
3rd Payment
Transfer Amount
48250 KES ($476 USD)
access_time 5 years ago
check
 
What did you spend your third transfer on?
I spent 20000 KES to buy Mpesa line, spending 10000 KES for Mpesa float and bought a cow for 15000 KES.
Do you have any new goals that you didn't have before receiving the transfer?
I have started my own Mpesa business as my new goal.
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
My life is different because I was working for someone in his Mpesa shop but now I have my own Mpesa business which gives me more income.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($496 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I built a kitchen at 15,000 KES. I paid 5,000 KES school fees I bought a solar panel at 21,000 KES and a steel door at 8,500 KES. I spent the rest of the money on food.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
I currently own a kitchen and cook comfortably unlike previously when I cooked in an open air and could be disrupted by rain. I currently own a solar panel which has improved the lighting system in my house. Furthermore, I fixed a steel door to reinforce the security of my house.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($98 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent my token payment on paying a silk loan of KES 10,000 I had.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I am planning to spend my upcoming lumpsum payment on buying chairs.I also want to start a business and plaster my house.
 
Enrolled
access_time almost 6 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
We have planned to buy household items,then we will pay part of school fees for our children and set up a small business to support ourselves.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is that I am able to look after my family despite my husband being partially deaf.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
My biggest hardship was finding out that we were both positive and I have to work extra hard in order to put food on the table since my husband can not work.
What is the happiest part of your day?
My happiest part is when am reading the word of God, it gives me comfort.