GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Newsfeed > Joram's Profile
Joram's family
Subsistence farming
homeHousehold Size:
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
Follow to be updated on Joram's next check-in.
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time almost 6 years ago
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent 25000 KES of my first lumpsum tranfer on a cow, 14000 KES on 20 iron sheets, I invested 10000 KES in quarrying and saved the remaining 1000 KES.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
Before I got transfers from GD ,feeding my household members used to be a problem since I never had any source of income but now I have made a step since I have invested in quarrying business that generates for us daily income that caters for my household needs. This has revamped peace and love in our family, the biggest difference in my daily life.
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time 6 years ago
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent the transfer on starting up a quarry business ksh 5500, 1/2 a sack of maize ksh 1000, employed labor ksh 300 and kept the balance in case of an emergency.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
Planning to extend my business.
access_time 6 years ago
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
First,I am planning to spend it on payment of dowry because ever since I married my wife,I have never paid her dowry.Secondly,I work in a quarry but I lack the necessary tools that can make my work smooth,hence I am planning to purchase some tools that will make me do my work with ease.Lastly,I will pay school fees so that my kids can stay in school.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
I would say,providing the basic needs to my children and giving them moral support is what I am proudest of.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
My biggest hardship is that I lack capital that can enable me boost my quarry business.
What is the happiest part of your day?
I'm happiest in the evening when I am reading the word of God because I get to learn vital lessons from the scripture that guides me on what path to follow.