chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Newsfeed > Jane's Profile
Jane's family
Jane
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
subsistence farming
faceAge:
23
workCampaign
UBI
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Jane's next check-in.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
25500 KES ($253 USD)
access_time 6 days ago
attach_money
 
Do you have any new goals that you didn't have before receiving the transfer?
I do have any new goals but will do with what I had planned earlier.
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
Apart from having my own business, I will be financially stable and able to depend upon myself.
How do you expect your life to change in the next six months?
I would really want to advance in my studies so that I get a good job and fulfill all my life dreams.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life since you started receiving payments from GiveDirectly.
Since I have not used the money, the biggest difference I will see in my life will be having a business which I have been longing to have for a year now and thanks to GD, my dream will come true.
 
Enrolled
access_time 1 month ago
 
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship I have faced in life, is difficulty in raising school fees to pay my college education. This situation has stagnated me from advancing not only in my studies but also career wise.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day, is during the midday when I meet my peers, and we share on what we can do to earn a living and become self-independent.
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to spend my transfer on starting up a business of selling both ready made and second hand clothes. This business will help me raise more money that I shall use to meet personal needs.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement I am proudest of in my life is having reared a flock of goats which gave me a sense of pride among my siblings