GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Carroline's Profile
Carroline's family
Carroline
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Casual labor
faceAge:
50
workCampaign
Kenya Standard Remote
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
53150 KES ($442 USD)
access_time 25 days ago
check
 
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
My new goal is to be able to cement the floor of my house. When I received a transfer from GiveDirectly I used the first one to build a new house. The house has not been cemented and I look forward to having it complete. My plan is to save up enough money from the casual work that I engage in and inturn use it to cement the floor.
In your opinion, what does GiveDirectly do well, and what does it not do well?
In my opinion GiveDirectly did very well by enrolling everyone equally without any form of biasness. This gave each deserving person an opportunity to benefit from the program and to put the funds into good use as they had planned.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
I used all of my second transfer to buy a piece of land. We were supposed to move away from the piece of land that we were in to pave way for the construction of a hotel hence the need to buy a new piece of land before I could relocateo pave way for a hotel that was constructed. I am a mother five children and I normally rely on casual work to raise money needed
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
55000 KES ($489 USD)
access_time 10 months ago
attach_money
 
Describe the moment when you received your money. How did you feel?
It was around 10.00a.m when I checked my phone since I was away in my farm tilling.Upon checking,I saw a notification message and when I opened,it was a confirmation of receipt of the anticipated transfer.I was so excited and thanked God for the support I had received.I immediately went and withdrew the money
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life since you started receiving payments from GiveDirectly.
Obtaining two bulls has brought the greatest joy in my daily life since they will grow and will keep them and I can sell when I have a financial emergency.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
With two children in school, one in college and another one in secondary school I was financially drained since I depended on daily manual jobs. Immediately after I received the transfer, I sent my daughter who is in college Kshs.13,000 for her to settle house rent and cater for her household items. I also spent Ksh.11,000 to settle school arrears for my son who had just joined form one and also bought uniform as well. With Kshs.24,500 I purchased two young bulls which I can add to my livestock and when grown I can sell them. With the remaining amount , I used part of it to buy food, clothing and saved part of it for emergencies.
 
Enrolled
access_time 1 year ago
 
What does receiving this money mean to you?
I am a mother of five children. Two of them are in secondary level, another two recently finished secondary level awaiting tertiary level while the firstborn finished her teaching profession awaiting employment. Having separated from my husband in 2005, I have had to toil to school all my kids. However, receiving this money will mean that my two kids will be able to join their tertiary schools of choice as I will be in a position to pay their first-year school fee of KES 120,000. I already have KES 70,000 as my savings meaning I will only top up KES 50,000. The remainder of the transfer will be for extending my house size to accommodate us all.
What is the happiest part of your day?
I am a housemaid in a family that is 25km away from my place of residency. The happiest part of my day is in the morning after I successfully reach the place of work on time. Walking on foot is strenuous and requires perseverance.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
Being a mother of five and with no regular source of income, the provision of quality education to my kids has been a strenuous task. I have had to work as a housemaid for the past nine years in a family that is 25km from my residency. Going to and fro regularly is straining me bearing in mind that I am past my prime years. To cater to the education expenses of my kids, I had to go into an agreement with my employer to assist whenever any arrears arise and then deduct from my daily income of KES 250/day until the repayment is over. This for me has been the biggest hardship I have faced in my life.