GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
Newsfeed > Hellen's Profile
Hellen's family
Hellen
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Shopkeeper
faceAge:
41
homeHousehold Size:
9
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Hellen's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time almost 8 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I bought 30 bags of cement at 22,500 KES, a lorry of gravel at 7,500 KES, two lorries of sand at 7,000 KES, a lorry of murram at 3,000 KES, one water tank at 2,500 KES, paid 7,000 KES school fee for my child in high school.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
I got good harvest from my previous farming because I used the Token to tend to it.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time 8 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent my Token payment on purchase of 1 steel door for 7,000 KES and also school fee for 3,000 KES
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I plan to spend my upcoming lump sum payment on plastering the inside of my house, paying school fee and buying a cow.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 8 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to spend my transfer on paying school fees for my two children who are in secondary school, I will spend part of the transfer on buying a dairy cow that can help me in the future when it gives birth to a calf and the remaining amount I will use to renovate my house as I had built it but I haven't finished it so I will use the transfer on buying bags of cement that I will use to repair it. I will also buy two bulls and a ploughing machine so that I can plough my farm.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement I am proudest of is that God has given me good health ever since my husband died and I have managed to take care of my children by taking them to school and providing them with food to eat as a widow.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship that I face in my life is that when I husband was alive we used to work on our farm together and do everything as a family so when I lost him,I am the one who has been left with the burden of doing everything and my children also need school fees hence it is really a difficult life.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is that I always give thanks to God for giving me the energy to plough my farm every morning during planting season and this has enabled me to use part of the produce to offset school fee balance for my kids so that they can remain in school to learn.