GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
Newsfeed > Susan's Profile
Susan's family
Susan
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Small business
faceAge:
29
homeHousehold Size:
7
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Susan's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($496 USD)
access_time 8 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent my transfers on buying building materials like iron sheets at 24,050KES,building poles at 16,270 KES, nails-3,350 KES and paid 7000 KES labour to build me a semi permanent house.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The biggest difference in my life is that I used to stay in a small one bed roomed house which was too small for my big family, but I now stay in a bigger three bed roomed house which can accommodate all of us.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time 8 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent 5,000 for ploughing my piece of land for planting, bought a matress @ 2,000KES and a water tank @ 1,500KES. I paid 1,500KES at school for my children.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I plan to buy ironsheet, timber and nails, and build an iron roofed house. I also hope to cement the floor and walls if the money will be enough.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 8 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to spend my transfer on renovating my house so that it can be in good condition, I have a girl child who is soon joining secondary school so I will save some cash so that I will pay school fees for her and the remaining amount I will invest in my small business of selling household items like cooking oil, bread and flour.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement I am proudest of is that I have been able to build a house and buy a cow using money that I got from my small business of selling household items.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship that I face in my life is that we constantly fall ill as a family and getting money to go to hospital is a challenge.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is is when I go to the the market in the morning to sell groceries and other household items, I feel happy to know that I will have money to buy food for my family.