GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
Newsfeed > Kamayo's Profile
Kamayo's family
Kamayo
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
30
homeHousehold Size:
4
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
3rd Payment
Transfer Amount
48200 KES ($468 USD)
access_time over 6 years ago
check
 
What did you spend your third transfer on?
I had constructed a house using my second transfer but I did not complete it, so, when I received my third transfer,I completed it. The remaining I spent on leasing a boat that gives me daily income. I also bought household furniture and some bedding as I did not have any.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($491 USD)
access_time over 7 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent my second transfer to build a better house as I didn't have house before.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The biggest difference in my life is the house which I have now hence I don't have to pay rent.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time almost 8 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
l spent the transfer to buy mattress at 4000 KES, l also spent 3500 KES on clothing the remaining balance l spent on food.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
l am planning to build my house since l am staying in my mother's kitchen.
 
Enrolled
access_time 8 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to spend the first portion of my transfer to buy a mattress,clothes and food.I am planning to spend the second portion to build my own house since I'm homeless.Lastly,I'm planning to pay my wife's dowry.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement I am proudest of is being able to take care of both of my parents while they were sick.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship I have faced in life is being without a house.I feel embarrassed because I share the same house with my mother hence I lack my own freedom and privacy.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is mostly in the evening when I'm playing soccer with my friends because that is the only free time I have to exercise my body.