chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Risper's Profile
Risper's family
Risper
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Small business
faceAge:
59
homeHousehold Size:
6
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Risper's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent 24, 700 KES to enlarge my house, 16,500 KES to buy a cow and a mattress for 2,500 KES. The rest of the transfer was spent on daily HH expenses.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
I have been able to enlarge my house which was quite small, but now it is spacious enough and can comfortably contain my belongings.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent 2,400 KES to buy a bag of maize, 1,400 KES to buy 3 iron sheets, 2,050 KES to buy kitchen utensils and also gave 3,500 KES to my son to do some construction.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I am planning to expand my house and do plastering to strengthen the walls, buy a water tank and also a solar lamp.
 
Enrolled
access_time almost 6 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to expand my house because it's small, plaster it because I am elderly and smearing is becoming hectic for me, buy a water tank so that I can harvest rain water and use the remaining amount to pay my son's college fee.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
Our proudest achievement is that we have given our children basic education. We have two children who have completed their secondary education and two have reached class eight.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
My biggest hardship is lack of money to educate my children and cater for my medical needs. I developed arthritis four years ago and I am yet to get proper medical care due to financial problems.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the afternoon when I have sold and raised some income from sales of doughnut.