chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Kevin's Profile
Kevin's family
Kevin
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Other
faceAge:
25
homeHousehold Size:
5
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Kevin's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I used my transfer to make an initial payment for a piece of land (50000)
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
I lost both parents and there have been land wrangles which led me to stay in a rental house with my family. Support from GD has enabled me to secure my own piece of land where my family can live peacefully, we have a letter from the chief that says after the final payment of 45000 is made, it shall be my family's property. I am happy for the support from GD.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
We spent my Token payment on an Eye operation (for 50,000 KES) for my child who went blind anyway - we approached fiends for support.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
We are planning to spend my upcoming lump sum payment on part payment for land on which we plan to make our home in future
 
Enrolled
access_time almost 6 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I would like to use part of the transfer to buy a piece of land where we can build a home since we do not have any land. Finally l would wish to build iron roofed house so that we can also have our own house.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is that as an orphan l have struggled and married a wife who has given me three children and able to provide food for them.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
My biggest hardship in life is lack of proper source of income to buy land and have a home.
What is the happiest part of your day?
My happiest part of the day is in the evening when I am capable of providing food for my family.