GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
Newsfeed > Salome's Profile
Salome's family
Salome
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
55
workCampaign
UBI
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
25500 KES ($248 USD)
access_time 5 years ago
check
 
How is your life currently different from how it was four months ago?
My life is currently different in that, before my husband's death he was the breadwinner this so I never lacked. But after his death, things got tough and my children were drugged into the suffering. Schools fees became a problem and how to eat and sustain them proved to be a challenge. But thanks to GD's support I was able to buy a cow and pay my daughters school fees. This has really handled my situation and caused a complete turnaround. I am so happy and stress-free.
Do you have any new or additional goals for your life for the next four months?
I want to venture into poultry farming to help me generate more income for my household. This will help solve school fees issues and other household expenditure.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life in the last four months preceding the current transfer.
The biggest difference in my daily life is that, ever since I received my transfers, I have been able to repair my household. It had cracked walls and a rough floor which as I speak they are all well plastered. I had longed to purchase a cow but I lacked resources to do so but since GD visited and issued me with transfers, in my compound now there is a cow that I bought and I owe no one a single cent.
How do you expect your life to change in the next six months?
In the next months, I am planning to improve my poultry business by investing more and putting more concentration on the business. I have realized that its a viable project that can really bring a huge change in my household.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
25500 KES ($253 USD)
access_time 6 years ago
attach_money
 
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life since you started receiving payments from GiveDirectly.
Since my husband passed,I have been staying in a very dilapidated house after it was destroyed by the rains. So now I have a nice strong house and I do not worry of it collapsing anytime soon whether it rains or not.
How do you expect your life to change in the next six months?
In the next six months,I hope that the poultry keeping project shall have picked up. This will change my life with my family being able to feed and lead a more comfortable life.
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
My current life is different after my daughter managed to clear her school fees. I am able to do other things using the money I will be getting next time. I also do not have to worry of the house collapsing any time like it was before I received the money.
Do you have any new goals that you didn't have before receiving the transfer?
My new goal is to start poultry keeping as this will give me more income to take care of my family. I am hopeful that my family will be more comfortable.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 6 years ago
 
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship I have faced is inability to pay examination fee for my daughter who was to sit for her final secondary year examination. This forced me to sell most of my livestock to ensure she sits her exams.
What is the happiest part of your day?
I am happiest in the evenings because at such times I have cleared my daily activities and resting from the hard work.
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to spend my transfer in starting up a poultry farming business that will earn me additional income.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement I am proudest of is ensuring my child goes through secondary education to completion despite the challenge of getting school fee for her.