GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
Newsfeed > Septer's Profile
Septer's family
Septer
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Casual labour
faceAge:
34
workCampaign
UBI
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
25500 KES ($248 USD)
access_time 5 years ago
check
 
How is your life currently different from how it was four months ago?
My life is different how it would have been four months ago in that I have new bedding. I have been using the ones my parents bought for me two years ago when I joined college. They were old and were getting very uncomfortable at night especially during the rainy seasons. I was forced to ask for help from a friend. When I received the transfer and paid school fees, I used the rest to buy new bedding which I am now using. I feel comfortable and sleep well because of GD transfers.
Do you have any new or additional goals for your life for the next four months?
My new goal in the four months is to start cloth business. This will help me earn an extra income from the help I get from my parents to help me meet my needs. I would not want to depend on my parents for everything anymore.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life in the last four months preceding the current transfer.
The biggest difference in my life since I received these transfers is that I was able to pay my college fees arrears in time. I was able to to do my examinations because I paid my arrears in time. I had been given a warning on the same. I had started losing hope that I was going to miss the examinations. When I received these transfers, I used to pay my fees arrears in time and am glad am continuing with my studies because of GD transfers.
How do you expect your life to change in the next six months?
My plan in the next six months is to start a business which will help me an extra income from the ones my parents give me every month. I would want to be financially independent and handle my issues without seeking help from my parents anymore.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
25500 KES ($253 USD)
access_time 6 years ago
attach_money
 
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life since you started receiving payments from GiveDirectly.
Biggest difference is that started a business and can now generate income for my family's upkeep.
How do you expect your life to change in the next six months?
I am planning to must have registered in college by then and started going for classes.
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
I can not go without getting money to buy something especially food for my family as I have a business that gives me profit everyday.This means my family never lacks.
Do you have any new goals that you didn't have before receiving the transfer?
I have no new goal.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 6 years ago
 
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
My biggest hardship is raising enough money to carter for my tertiary training since I have no relative to provide support, nor able to meet the costs by self.
What is the happiest part of your day?
My happiest part of the day is in the evening when I get time to rest after working tirelessly in the day.
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I plan to spend my transfers towards training for a diploma course in Early Childhood Development that will help me get employment and earn a living.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is having successfully attained secondary education amidst school fee challages that I had.