chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Newsfeed > Rose's Profile
Rose's family
Rose
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Other
faceAge:
29
homeHousehold Size:
7
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
3rd Payment
Transfer Amount
48200 KES ($477 USD)
access_time over 1 year ago
check
 
What did you spend your third transfer on?
Being a widow with no where to stay in with my family was the depressing life I had ever lived hence I spent my third transfer on buying a piece of land and now I have a place to call home .I am thankful to GiveDirectly for making a big impact in my life.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($494 USD)
access_time over 2 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I bought acow for keeping @15,000KES and spent 20,000KES on buying iron sheet for roofing my house.We did not have food and therefore bought maize for consumption, clothes for the children and a set of seats @4,000KES.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
GD has gotten me out of extreme poverty, I never imagined that one day I would also live a better life.I now hope to live in a good house soon.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time almost 3 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I bought school shoes and uniform for my five children at 5,500 KES, a sack of maize at 3,200 KES then used the rest on food for the house.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
Am planning to pay a deposit of 50,000 KES on land which I want to buy so that I can set my own compound.
 
Enrolled
access_time 3 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to buy sand, cement, timber, round poles, nails and iron roofing sheets which I will use to build a better house for my family. The remaining transfers will be used to pay school fees for my children and buy a few household items.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is having worked at at the lakeside as a casual worker. I saved a substantial amount of my earnings and eventually managed to build my own house which I am very proud of.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship that I face right now is lack of enough money to adequately buy food for my family and also pay school fees for my children. My children might have to sleep hungry as well as drop out of school if I do not get any assistance soon.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the morning when I am working at the lakeside. Fisherman, sellers and casual workers often interact with each other and the atmosphere is usually very lively.