chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Newsfeed > Nancy's Profile
Nancy's family
Nancy
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Other
faceAge:
31
homeHousehold Size:
6
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
3rd Payment
Transfer Amount
48200 KES ($475 USD)
access_time almost 3 years ago
check
 
What did you spend your third transfer on?
I bought furniture for 17000 KES, maize 3200 KES, television 10000 KES, started fish business with 10000 KES, bought clothes, shoes and uniforms for my children and still saving 5000 KES.
Do you have any new goals that you didn't have before receiving the transfer?
Yes, I have a goal of doing fish business which I did not have before receiving transfer.
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
My life is difference because my dowry has been paid,I have furniture, all my family members eat and dress well unlike before we received transfers from GD.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($496 USD)
access_time 3 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent the transfer on paying my dowry ksh 30000, bought 3 goats ksh 10000 and used balance on meals and clothes.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The biggest difference i have seen in my life is that i have now earned respect in the community because now my dowry.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time 3 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
We spent my Token payment on purchase of a mattress and starting a local chips selling business.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
We are planning to spend my upcoming lump sum payment on paying dowry to my parents and also buying small livestock.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 3 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to save the money so that when my son goes to secondary school next year we will be able to pay his fees. Some part of the transfers we will use to buy cows and pay dowry.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is that I saved profits I gained while selling snacks and managed to build our current house.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship that I face right now is that I have no sustainable source of income therefore catering for my family's basic needs like food and clothes is difficult.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the evening especially when I get something to cook for my children and they can have a good meal. This makes me very happy because I have provided them with a basic need, food.