GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
Newsfeed > Maria's Profile
Maria's family
Maria
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
57
homeHousehold Size:
5
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
3rd Payment
Transfer Amount
48200 KES ($475 USD)
access_time almost 6 years ago
check
 
What did you spend your third transfer on?
I bought cement 15000 KES, labor cost 5000 KES, sand 4000 KES. I spent some transfer to enlarge my house and cement it.
Do you have any new goals that you didn't have before receiving the transfer?
I have a new goal of starting a small business of selling household items.
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
I have a bigger a house a kitchen which I could not build without the transfer. I was also a very poor widow but now my life has really improved.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($496 USD)
access_time almost 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
l want to build a spacious house so l bought 24 iron-sheets at 18000 kshs , poles at 5760 ksh, timber at 4500 kshs, nails at 3500 kshs l hold the remaining balance as l wait to start building
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
My life has really change because l now have hope that l will have comfortable and spacious house.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent my Token payment on purchase of small items such as a radio, lamp, utensils, bedding and food
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I am planning to spend my upcoming lump sum payment on improving the appearance of my current house through renovation, and buying a cow to provide me with milk in the near future.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 6 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I have planned to plaster my house since it does not look presentable,I also want to pay school fees for my daughter.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The proudest achievement is that I have seen my children grow up well.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship is that I have chest problem and no proper in come
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is when I have something to eat.