chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Anna's Profile
Anna's family
Anna
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
42
homeHousehold Size:
3
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Anna's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent 40000 KES to buy building materials and built a house,bought water containers 2000 KES, plastic chairs 1400 KES, blanket 1500 KES, utensils and food.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
I now live in a bigger house with chairs and other household items I was lacking before receiving transfers.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I used 5,000 KES to conduct subsistence farming. I also purchased family foodstuffs with the remaining portion.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I'm planning to spend a larger portion of the upcoming lumpsum on building a spacious iron roofed house because my current house is too small in size. I'm also planning to invest the remaining portion in livestock.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 5 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to buy sand, cement, timber, round poles and nails which I will use to enlarge my house. Finally I will buy a dairy cow.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is having started a small business selling groundnuts and with the proceeds I was able to educate my son up to class eight.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship that I face right now is lack of a sustainable source of income for myself, I therefore have to be very careful with what little money I have, this means that I miss out on a lot of essential items like good nutritious meals.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the morning if I wake up when I am not feeling ill or tired.