chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Samwel's Profile
Samwel's family
Samwel
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
36
homeHousehold Size:
7
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
3rd Payment
Transfer Amount
48200 KES ($475 USD)
access_time 5 years ago
check
 
What did you spend your third transfer on?
I I bought furniture 13000 KES, bought cement for 7500 KES, murram 6000 KES, sand 3000 KES a door 2500 KES, a calf for 10000 KES, maize 3200 KES
Do you have any new goals that you didn't have before receiving the transfer?
Yes, I bought a cow and built a house as my new goals.
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
I am not the same as I was before receiving transfers. I now have assets and live comfortably in my newly built house.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($495 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
l planning to build my house l have bought 20 iron-sheet at 14000 kshs ,poles at 15000 kshs , l also bought cow at 15000 kshs and 2 sacks of maize at 6000 kshs.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
GD has given me away forward on my building project.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I used a portion of the transfer to pay fee to my 3 children in academy school. I also purchased foodstuffs for family consumption.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I'm planning to use a portion of the transfer to farm my land. I'm also planning to build a new iron roofed house because my current house is too old.
 
Enrolled
access_time almost 6 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to use my transfer on my children's education, expand my fishing business and start horticultural farming so as to have a reliable source of income.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is that I have taken good care of my family and other dependants through fishing.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship I have faced in life is lack of reliable source of income to sustain my family. I am a fisherman and currently the fishing business is not good because of scarcity of fish
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the afternoon after I have earned from the day's work.