chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Daisy's Profile
Daisy's family
Daisy
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
34
homeHousehold Size:
7
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
3rd Payment
Transfer Amount
48200 KES ($476 USD)
access_time 5 years ago
check
 
What did you spend your third transfer on?
I bought cement 13000 KES, paid labor 13000 KES, school fees 10000 KES, maize 3600 KES and spent the rest on buying food and clothes for my children.
Do you have any new goals that you didn't have before receiving the transfer?
I have a goal of paying school fees balances and painting my house.
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
I am now owning good furniture, sleeping comfortably in a bed and mattress in a permanent house free from dust.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($496 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
l spend 34000 kshs of the transfer to pay school fees for my three children in high, l also bought furniture at 10000 kshs the remaining balance of 6000 ksh l spend to start a small scale business.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
My life has really change because l started my business which is doing well and so l get my daily income from it.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
The floor of my house was very dusty, so I bought cement and cemented the floor of my house.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I plan to buy cement and cement walls of my house. I also plan to increase stock for my grocery shop so that my profit may increase.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 5 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I have planned to invest my money in a business that is going to be helpful to me
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The proudest achievement is having a roof over my families head.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship is that we are not well health wise and we are really suffering.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is when am doing my business since I will make money