GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Newsfeed > Pamela's Profile
Pamela's family
Subsistence farming
homeHousehold Size:
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
Follow to be updated on Pamela's next check-in.
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($496 USD)
access_time over 7 years ago
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I used Kshs. 4000 to pay school fees, I used Kshs. 3000 to buy grains. The remaining Kshs. 3000 I used to buy household items such as soap, cooking fat, food staffs, utencils
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
I have managed to built my own house which is better than where I used to live in
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 7 years ago
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I paid 4,000KES school fees for my orphaned niece whom I stay with, and bought a sack of maize @ 3000KES. I spent the rest on food.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I plan to buy cement and sand, and cement the floor and walls of my house.
access_time almost 8 years ago
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I plan to repair my house, fixing windows, a steel door and plastering the walls and floor with cement, I also plan to build a toilet and the rest I will invest in business.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement am proudest of is farming. I am an all round farmer, I rear livestock like cattle, goats and sheep. I also do poultry especially chicken. And above all I plant crops like maize and millet. I am proud because I have raised my children and have been able to sustain my family through this farming activities
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship I face is lack of a sustainable income source.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in when i get called for a casual job especially in the morning.