GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Newsfeed > Daphline's Profile
Daphline's family
Subsistence farming
homeHousehold Size:
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
Follow to be updated on Daphline's next check-in.
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($494 USD)
access_time almost 6 years ago
What did you spend your second transfer on?
i used my first transfer to buy materials and expanded my house (31500), paid college and secondary school fees (15000) and food (3200).
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
Life has become easy because i have acquired things i did not have and expanded my house. I thank GD
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time 6 years ago
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I bought a mattress (2000), 3 chicken (1500), clothes (2000), food (500), paid school fee (3000) and a hospital bill (900).
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I am planning to plaster my house, buy chairs and pay school fees.
access_time 6 years ago
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to spend my transfer on paying school fees for my child who is in secondary school and the others who are in primary school, I will spend part of the transfer on buying cement that I will use in plastering my house, I will also buy furniture like chairs for my house and some part of the transfer I will also use in building a toilet as I don't have any and the remaining amount I will spend on buying food and clothes for my family.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement that I am proudest of is that I have been able to take my child to school till he finished high school with cash that I have been saving from the sale of my farm produce.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship that I face in my life is that ever since my child cleared high school in the year 2014, I have not been able to raise fees for him to join college as my income is very low.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is when I am spending time with my family in the evening when they come back home from school and they are happy and healthy.