GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
Newsfeed > Margaret's Profile
Margaret's family
Margaret
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
54
homeHousehold Size:
8
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Margaret's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($494 USD)
access_time almost 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
When I received my first lumpsum transfer, I paid school fees for my 2 children with 38000 KES then I painted the roof of my main house with 8000 KES and I invested the remaining 4000 KES in quarrying.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
I never lived in peace since all my children used to blame me that I was not educating them but when I received transfers from GD, I managed to enroll them in different schools and I am now living with peace of mind and self-esteem as a mother, the biggest difference in my daily life.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
l spend the money to build a poultry house so l bought 12 secondhand iron-sheet and at 6000 kshs and timber at 3000 kshs the balance l use for paying labour.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
l planning to clear college fees for my two children in college.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 6 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I plan to spend the transfer to pay school fees for my three daughters in college and one daughter in high school. I also plan to use the remaining balance to start a small business that would add value to my income.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is that I have managed to pay school fees for my eldest son up to University level. I have made this possible because I have been saving the little money that I get from building stones that I sell.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship that I have faced in life is paying school fees being that I have three daughters and one daughter at college and high school level respectively. It hasn't been easy for me as a widow. Sometimes I have to skip a meal just to save a little money for school fees.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the morning when am in my farm weeding.