chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Newsfeed > Kelvin's Profile
Kelvin's family
Kelvin
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Janitor/porter (works for others)
faceAge:
22
workCampaign
FSD / Urban Youth
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Kelvin's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
36800 KES ($364 USD)
access_time 6 months ago
attach_money
 
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
Before I was a part-time dobby despite the meagre income, I could pay my school fees with this and it was so challenging. It reached a point in time that I felt I would drop out of college because missing to attend classes most often, affected my grades that made me a weak student hence it demotivated me a lot. Currently, my life different than it would have been if I never receive this transfer in that I have started two small retail business and the income I am getting I pay my college fees with ease. Thanks to GiveDirectly for enabling me to achieve my goal of pursuing my education.
Do you have any new or additional goals for your life?
My new goal is to have my own rent house and relieve my parent's the burden of taking care of me. Having a larger family makes my parents do struggle to meet our needs.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
I always admired the dream of being my own boss and having my success through venturing into a lucrative business. Lack of capital barred me to reach this dream. I spent the most recent transfer to start two small retail businesses and the profit from each I use to enhance the sustainability of the two as they compliment each other. The surplus profits I am able to pay my college fees with ease.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
20000 KES ($200 USD)
access_time 8 months ago
attach_money
 
Do you have any new goals that you didn't have before receiving the transfer?
My goal is to study a course in Automotive Mechanic so that I can own my own workshop someday.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life since you started receiving payments from GiveDirectly.
The biggest difference in my daily life is that I now live a more comfortable life as I was able to purchase some household items that I did not have before, such as seats and a mattress. My business has also improved and is so far doing well.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
I spent my most recent transfer to expand my shoe business, to pay my school fees and to purchase some household items. I have been selling second hand shoes where I live in Mathare, Mlango Kubwa village, since last year, 2018. I usually buy these shoes from the popular Gikomba market near the Central Business District in Nairobi, and I resell them back in Mathare. I spent part of my transfers to expand this business because I did not have sufficient stock. I added stock to my business and I am happy that my business is doing well since. I also purchased some seats and a mattress in my house. I now live a more comfortable life.
Describe the moment when you started receiving transfers. How did you feel?
I was still asleep early in the morning on the day that I first received my transfers. I was woken up at around 5:00 AM by a call from a friend of mine from my youth group, who was calling to alert me to check my phone as the transfers had come in. I immediately hang up the call to check my phone. I was very happy when I saw the message. I did not even go back to sleep. I sat up for a while just to think of how I would spend the transfers. I did not tell anyone about it, and I prepared myself to go to work.
 
Enrolled
access_time 11 months ago
 
What do you plan to do with the cash transfer?
My first priority is to start livestock farming upcountry in Muranga County. I will do poultry keeping for their meat and eggs. I have had a passion of this venture since I was young. This was after seeing my grandmother getting a lot of money from this business. Secondly, I will open a cereal business in Githurai, Nairobi County. Population there is high and this will provide a ready market for my business. I therefore hope to get a lot of profit in return. Lastly, I will use the transfer to support my mother in paying school fees for my sister.
Describe your biggest worry.
My top concern is lack of a stable source of income because my life will become difficult. I may be unable to provide food on my table and result to begging. I may also lack to pay rent and get thrown out of my house or not be able to pay for my medical bills. This may force me to start borrowing or engage in criminal activities or be forced to go upcountry.
What are your greatest ambitions?
My ambition is to become a successful business man in future. I will involve myself in large-scale farming in my county of Muranga. Agriculture is the backbone of our economy in Kenya and their is a ready market because of the high population. I will be able to sell my produce and hope to make a lot of profit in return.
Describe your usual day. How do you spend your time?
My usual day starts at 6:00am when I wake up early in the morning. I prepare myself and take breakfast in a nearby kiosk before I embark on my work of collecting garbage in Mlango Kubwa village, in Mathare. I do my work until 1:00pm then I return back to my house. I take a shower and have lunch at a nearby kiosk. I then leave to where our group is located, where we have income generating activities such as selling water, laundry and barber shop where we work in shifts. I return back in the house at 9:00 pm and retire to bed. On Sundays I go to church and in my free time, I relax at home, watch movies, listen to music or visit friends.