chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Newsfeed > Willis's Profile
Willis's family
Willis
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Student
faceAge:
23
workCampaign
FSD / Urban Youth
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
3rd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($488 USD)
access_time 3 months ago
check
 
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
There is a change in my life because previously my former high school headteacher decided to detain my certificate reason being that I had not cleared paying all the arrears. My life became quite difficult because I could not progress with my education leave alone applying for any job opportunity. However, when I got the cash transfers, I was able to clear all the fees arrears and finally managed to get hold of my certificate. I immediately applied for a chance at the Kenya Medical training Institute and glad I got the chance, so today I am happy to be a student at the institution.
Do you have any new or additional goals for your life?
Currently, my goal is to start up another business which I will run all by myself so that I can get some good profits at the end of the month. Currently, I am only able to get a very small and marginal profit from my current business which I think is not making any economic sense. When I have made deductions on the transport costs that I incur plus the amount of money I pay those who work for me, I remain with a very insignificant amount.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
I spent the most recent transfers on paying my school fees arrears both at my former high school and my current college institution. I had to part ways with a whopping amount of 27000 KES. I also bought a few household items for my mother which included buying her new utensils and a brand new TV set. I also bought a few items which I use at my hostel on a day to day basis. Household items such as utensils, TV for news. Whatever remained after all the expenses had been met, went into the purchase of food and other daily school needs.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
36800 KES ($364 USD)
access_time 6 months ago
attach_money
 
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
Currently, my life is different than it would have never been in that I have been able to build a decent tradition house 'Simba' in the countryside. I am at peace because I am certain of a shelter to sleep in when I visit the countryside. As a result, I will no longer look for a place to sleep in either at my friend's or relatives whom at times were very unwelcoming.
Do you have any new or additional goals for your life?
I have no new goal but to save for my college education. I believe through completing college I will be able to get employed and provide for my family with ease. The challenge I am facing which includes exempting classes to work on odd jobs to pay my college fees and I feel its a distraction to the success of my education
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
I spent the most recent transfer that I received from GiveDirectly to build a decent tradition house 'Simba' in the countryside. I am at peace because I am certain of a shelter to sleep in when I visit the countryside. Before I would look for a place to sleep either at my friend's or relatives whom at times were unwelcoming. The remaining amount I spent on buying food and transport.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
20000 KES ($199 USD)
access_time 8 months ago
attach_money
 
Do you have any new goals that you didn't have before receiving the transfer?
My goal is to be one of the biggest fish suppliers in Nairobi county. I hope to supply fish in the 5 star restaurants in Nairobi county.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life since you started receiving payments from GiveDirectly.
The biggest difference in my daily life is having my own business and an income to sustain me everyday. I am assured of making some little money every day.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
I spent part of my transfers to clear a fee balance of 7000 KES from my former high school, so I could obtain my school leaving certificate. I completed high school in the year 2016 and I have been engaged in construction jobs. An aunt of mine used to pay my school fees whenever she could, as my mother who does farming in my rural home, could not afford to cater for my fees. My father passed on when I was very young. I also had no means of clearing my school fees, as I only make enough to cater for my rent and meals; some months I never even afford to pay my rent. I was happy I managed to get my certificate. I also started a fish business with the remaining transfers. I get fish from my rural home with the help of my mother, and I sell the fish here in Mathare. This business has sustained me since I received my first transfers.
Describe the moment when you started receiving transfers. How did you feel?
My landlord had knocked on my door the previous day to ask for rent. The following morning as I was still worried about where I would get rent for that month, the Mpesa message came in. I was very happy. I immediately paid my rent.
 
Enrolled
access_time 11 months ago
 
What do you plan to do with the cash transfer?
I would like to first prioritize settling my school fees debt because most of the time job opportunities avail themselves and i miss out on them because i lack my papers that are still in school due to the debt i owe them. Secondly, I would love to set up a business of selling second hand clothes so that I can give the residents of mathare an affordable clothing option due to their low income that cannot allow them to buy new clothings and also boost my income flow. Lastly, i would love to relocate and get a place of my own since where i reside now we share the room.
Describe your biggest worry.
My top concern is my mother's passing because i have a dream of building a house for my mother one day. Everyday i fear for her death should it strike earliet and i haven't fulfilled my dream for her.
What are your greatest ambitions?
I mostly wanted to be a doctor because i am in love with what doctors normally do. They save lives and help those who are in pain. This is the ambition i will put in lots of efforts to see myself realize it.
Describe your usual day. How do you spend your time?
When i wake up in the morning i take breakfast and go to work. I normal take part in group projects that we have of selling water, toilets and bathrooms so i run the business then at around 4pm i go to my football practices, i play for SHOFCO team. After my rehearsals at around 6:30pm, i go home, freshen up then relax in the house. In my free time, i mostly spend it watch movies at home.