GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Beatrice's Profile
Beatrice's family
Small business
homeHousehold Size:
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
Follow to be updated on Beatrice's next check-in.
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time over 6 years ago
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I Used my transfer to build a kitchen KES 18000, bought a steel door KES 7000, 3 windows KES 9000, sand KES 14000, paid primary school fees for my child KES 1000 and food KES 900
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
I live with my deceased in-laws children and they had no place to sleep but i managed to build a new kitchen where they can spend. I also have materials to expand and plaster my house.
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 6 years ago
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent 4750 KES of my token payment on a mattress, 2500 KES on a sack of maize then I cleared 1500 KES school fees balance for my child and I spent the remaining 1250 KES on food.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I am planning to construct a latrine, a house and clear school fees balance for my children with the whole of my upcoming lumpsum payment.
access_time over 6 years ago
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to buy sand, cement, timber, round poles, nails and iron roofing sheets which I will use to build an external kitchen, a pit latrine and finally plaster my house If there are any funds remaining I plan to add some more capital into my business.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is having started a small business selling fast moving consumer goods and cereals, I then saved my profits with a women's self help group and eventually I managed to buy a motorcycle.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship that I face right now is lack of capital to increase stocks of fast moving consumer goods that we sell at our small shop.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the morning when I wake up and greet my family members. If none of them is sick I often feel very happy.