GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Alice's Profile
Alice's family
Alice
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
26
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
3rd Payment
Transfer Amount
48200 KES ($469 USD)
access_time 5 years ago
check
 
What did you spend your third transfer on?
I spent most of my third transfer on plastering my house which was initially made of mud and very prone to damages whenever it rained. I also purchased a solar panel for lighting my house which was initially lit using a kerosene lamp which escalated my sight problem. I am so happy today that I no longer visit hospitals for eye checkup.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($481 USD)
access_time almost 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent my second transfer on building an iron roofed house because I had a leaking and small one.I also bought a cow used in my co-wife's funeral.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The biggest difference in my daily life is that I have a leak free and spacious house.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
We spent 5,000 KES to buy poles to construct a new house, paid 2,500 KES as first installment for M-Kopa solar lamp, bought maize for 1,200 KES and a water container for 1,400 KES. (Added money from other sources)
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
We are planning to buy more construction materials and construct a new house.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 6 years ago
 
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement that I am proudest of is that I was able to buy a hen using cash that I got from casual labor. This makes me happy as the hen is now laying eggs.
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to spend my transfer on building a new house as the one we currently stay in is very small and the remaining amount I will spend on buying a dairy cow so that my family can have fresh milk every morning.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship that I face in my life is that our house is very small while my family is large and this makes it difficult for us to find space when they want to sleep.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is when I wake up in the morning to look for casual labor and I manage to secure one. This makes me happy as I am able to get cash that I can buy food for my family.