GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
Newsfeed > Carolyne's Profile
Carolyne's family
Carolyne
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
25
homeHousehold Size:
8
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
3rd Payment
Transfer Amount
48250 KES ($476 USD)
access_time almost 8 years ago
check
 
What did you spend your third transfer on?
I bought cement 16200 KES, labor charges 7000, steel door 7500 KES, glasses 360 KES, ballast 3000 KES, water 1200 KES, table clothes 7000 KES and a goat 3000 KES and school fees 5000 KES.
Do you have any new goals that you didn't have before receiving the transfer?
I have a goal of having a water tank for storing water.
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
I own a cow for ox-ploughing and currently living comfortably in a good permanent house.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($494 USD)
access_time over 8 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent my first lumpsum transfer on moving to my home and building an iron roofed house.I also started a cereal business,bought water container and paid school fees for my nephew.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The biggest difference in my daily life is that I have my home now.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($98 USD)
access_time over 8 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent my token payment on buying a cow.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I am planning to spend my upcoming lumpsum payment on buying a cow and an oxe plough.I also want to expand my house and plaster the flour.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 8 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I would like to use part of the transfer to buy oxen to enable me plough my farm since that is the only source of income we have. Secondly l would wish to expand my house because my house is small . Finally l would like to open up a business to generate
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is that l have struggled and bought a cow.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
My biggest hardship in life is lack of proper source of income to sustain my family.
What is the happiest part of your day?
My happiest part of the day is when working in my farm with my family and rains all over knowing that I will have good harvest.