GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
Newsfeed > Rebecca's Profile
Rebecca's family
Rebecca
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
57
homeHousehold Size:
4
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Rebecca's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time almost 8 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I used my transfer to buy iron sheets, roofing poles and paid for the labor (48000) and made part payment for digging a pit for a new latrine (1800).
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
I had no money to replace my roof but this transfer helped me and now my house is a good as new.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time 8 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I paid school fees arrears of 8000 KES for children and I spent the remaining 2000 KES of my token payment on food.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I will complete my main house that I had started constructing using the whole of my upcoming lumpsum payment.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 8 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I plan to spend the transfer to complete constructing my house. I also plan to spend the transfer to buy a water tank that I will use to harvest rainwater. I also plan to spend the transfer to pay school fees.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is that I have been able to buy household items like furniture.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship that I have faced in life is that I dont have adequate income to support my family.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the morning when I am in the farm weeding.