GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Newsfeed > Elizabeth's Profile
Elizabeth's family
Subsistence farming
homeHousehold Size:
Standard Kenya
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
3rd Payment
Transfer Amount
48200 KES ($475 USD)
access_time almost 8 years ago
What did you spend your third transfer on?
I spent my second transfer on buying a cow at 20,000 KES. I also paid school fees for my son at 10,000 KES,bought cement,6 chicken and food for my household.
Do you have any new goals that you didn't have before receiving the transfer?
I have a new goal of starting a small business.
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
My life different than it would have been if I never received the transfer because I have a cemented house hence I don't have to constantly repair it.
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($494 USD)
access_time 8 years ago
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I paid 20,000 KES school fee for my son, bought 40 roofing poles at 16,000 KES, paid 5,000KES labor charge, bought four chickens at 2,000 KES, one sack of maize at 2,500 KES then used the rest of the cash on food for the workers and my house.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
My child can now easily stay in class because the fee arrears have reduced.
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($98 USD)
access_time over 8 years ago
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I used it for house renovations and to pay school fees
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I plan to renovate my house and pay school fees
access_time over 8 years ago
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
First,we are planning to buy some cows that will aid in farming since this is our main source of income.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement I am proudest of is being a poultry farmer because it has really boosted my life.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship we are facing is lack of proper source of income as well as inadequate food in the house.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the evening when I am relaxing with my children and sharing stories.