GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Newsfeed > Judith's Profile
Judith's family
Subsistence farming
homeHousehold Size:
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
Follow to be updated on Judith's next check-in.
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time almost 8 years ago
What did you spend your second transfer on?
When I received my first lumpsum transfer, I built a semi-permanent house of 20 iron sheets at a total cost of 44000 KES, I spent 3000 KES on a goat and the remaining 3000 KES on food.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The biggest difference in our lives is that my children no longer seek for over night rests at my neighboring homes, which could cause conflicts and several arguments. My current main house is now more spacious to accommodate us all.
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time almost 8 years ago
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I bought 10 iron sheets at 7,000 KES. I paid 800 KES school fees. I spent the rest on school uniforms, clothes and utensils.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I'm planning to build an iron roofed house and to buy a sheep with the remaining amount.
access_time over 8 years ago
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
We would like to expand our house by adding some extra rooms that can accommodate our expanding family.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
I am proud that my children are able to go to school without being sent away due to lack of schools fees.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship we are facing currently is inadequate food in the house considering the number of children we are taking care of.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the morning when I am able to look for food that my children can eat.