chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Evaline's Profile
Evaline's family
Evaline
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
30
homeHousehold Size:
4
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Evaline's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
l spent the transfer to build a spacious house so l bought building materials at 41960 kshs, labor-charge at 5500 kshs, the remaining balance l spent to buy food.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
l was staying in a very small house but now l am staying in a very nice spacious house that accommodate me with my family
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent 7000 KES of my token payment on a sofa set and the remaining 3000 KES on clothing and food for my household members.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I am planning to build a kitchen of 20 iron sheets with the whole of my upcoming lumpsum payment.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 5 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I plan to build a kitchen and to pay school fees. Since my husband died before paying my dowry, I plan to do so on his behalf.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement am proudest of is taking care of the kids in terms of school fees, food, shelter and clothing especially after my husband died.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship I face is the burden of school fees, due to lack of a reliable income source.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the morning when doing house chores like fetching water, washing utensils and smearing the house.