chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Esther's Profile
Esther's family
Esther
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
44
homeHousehold Size:
4
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Esther's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent the whole of the first lumpsum in catering for cost of building iron roof house.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
My has improved because I had a small house which was almost falling but now I have a large descent house.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I paid secondary school fees for my daughter using 2000 KES of my token payment then I spent 2500 KES on a goat and the remaining 5500 KES on a tableware.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
First my surrounding is pathetic and therefore I am planning to build a semi-permanent house and buy a cow with my upcoming lumpsum payment.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 5 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I plan to renovate my house, build a kitchen and to cattle for farming since we already have a ploughing machine.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement am proudest of is farming. I invest alot in farming because it has brought lot of income. It's partly commercial and this is how I have survived all this years.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship we face is just our income is indirectly proportional to our needs and those of our dependants.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the afternoon when I go to the market. I sale vegetables like tomatoes and kales.