chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Elijah's Profile
Elijah's family
Elijah
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
46
homeHousehold Size:
9
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
3rd Payment
Transfer Amount
48200 KES ($475 USD)
access_time 5 years ago
check
 
What did you spend your third transfer on?
I spent 15,000 KES of my second transfer on buying chairs.I also want to buy a cow and food for my consumption.
Do you have any new goals that you didn't have before receiving the transfer?
I have a new goal of starting a cereal business.
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
My life different than it would have been if I never received the transfer because because I have an ox plough and oxen to easen my farming.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($497 USD)
access_time 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I have already bought an ox (17000) and am planning to buy another ox and a plough (32500)
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
Farming has always been hectic but now i will be able to farm with ease and get good yields because i now have what i desired most.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($98 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I bought a cow at 8,000 KES. I also purchased foodstuffs for family consumption with the remaining amount.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I'm planning to buy an ox-plough and two oxen to facilitate my farming activities.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 5 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
We are planning to spend our transfer on paying school fees for our children, both are in class eight and will be joining high school next year.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement I am proudest of is being able to build my current house and also paying dowry for my wife.This was through saved money from casual labour that I would get around the village.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship I face currently in my life is on accessing clean water and the distance covered to get the water.We also find it hard to feed the family due to lack of proper source of income.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is during noon time when I take my cattle out to graze.