chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Ester's Profile
Ester's family
Ester
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
56
homeHousehold Size:
5
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Ester's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($496 USD)
access_time 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent 37,000 KES to buy construction materials (iron sheets, timber, poles, fissure board, nails) and paid 6,000 KES for labour. I spent 6,000 KES to buy food stuff and other daily household expenses.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
My house was very old and almost falling, but after receiving the transfers I have managed to construct a new house and am now safe together with my property.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($98 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I used a portion of the transfer to buy and fix a metallic door. I also bought a table with the remaining amount.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I'm planning to replace my roof with new iron sheets because it is currently leaking. I'm also planning to cement both walls and floor of my house.Currently it is earth and get dusty easily. Besides, it is expensive to repair frequently.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 5 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I plan to spend the transfer to pay school fees for my daughter in high school. I also plan to start a small business. I also plan to plaster my house being that am allergic to dust.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is that I have been able to build a house for my family. I was able to do this from my savings.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship that I have faced in life is lack of adequate income to support my family.
What is the happiest part of your day?
My happiest part of the day is in the morning when am in the farm weeding. I feel very happy because its a source of livelihood to me.