GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
Newsfeed > Peter's Profile
Peter's family
Peter
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
40
homeHousehold Size:
7
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Peter's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time almost 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
l spent the transfer to build my house so l bought build materials at 37900 kshs, labor-charge 11000 kshs, the remaining balance l spent to buy food.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
My life has changed because l was staying in a very small house but now l am in a very spacious house that accommodate me with my family.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent 6200 KES of my token payment on 10 iron sheets and spent the remaining 3800 KES on a solar panel.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I will clear secondary school fees for my children and complete building my main house with this my upcoming lumpsum payment.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 6 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
We plan to build a house, pay dowry to my parents inlaw and to pay school fees.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement am proudest of farming. This is my source of livelihood. I depend on farming to pay school fees and to provide for my family at large
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship I face is the burden of school fees. My eldest child joined high school this year. I also have others in primary schools.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the morning when I wake up healthy and able to perform my duties.