GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Newsfeed > Daniel's Profile
Daniel's family
Subsistence farming
homeHousehold Size:
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
Follow to be updated on Daniel's next check-in.
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($496 USD)
access_time 6 years ago
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I bought door two steel doors (13000 KES) windows ( 4000 KES) cement (8800 KES) sand (7000 KES) ballast (2000 KES) and paid labor (5500 KES). I also bought a sheet (3000 KES) and still saving 5000 KES for shopping.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The biggest difference in my life is that I have cemented my floor and replaced my weak windows and doors. We now live in a comfortable and safer house.
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time 6 years ago
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I paid fees 4,000 KES to my daughter in secondary school. Used 3,000 KES to settle some debts. I also bought a mattress with the remaining amount.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I'm planning to cement both walls and floor of my house. This will save me from frequent repairs of the floor.
access_time over 6 years ago
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
We are planning to spend our transfer on cementing our house,changing our house doors from wood to metal and finally buying some cattle to keep.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement we are proudest of is being able to farm with consistency and get food for my family.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship we are facing currently is on paying school fees for our children with no sure source of income.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is usually in the morning when I am able to do some casual job in the nearby school expecting payment that helps me put food on the table for my family.