GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Samwel's Profile
Samwel's family
Samwel
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Small business
faceAge:
34
homeHousehold Size:
4
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Samwel's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent my transfer on dowry payment KES 30000, dug a pit latrine KES 8000, bought 2 goats KES 6000 and food KES 5900.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
I had dreams but it was impossible for me to achieve since i am disabled. I managed to pay dowry and build a pit latrine in my compound that i will move to and my children are settled in school. I am so grateful to GD's support.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
l had a dept of 4000 kshs so l use the money to pay it, l also bought a suck of maize worth 2500 kshs the remaining amount l use for farming.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
l am planing to build my own home because am still staying in my father's home.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 6 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I plan to buy two cows and a ploughing machine for farming, build a home and to boost my wife's business which is very unstable.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement am proudest of is that despite my disability, I have worked hard to build this house and to start a family. I don't beg for anything because I believe disability is not inability.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship I face is the burden of hiring people to help me prepare land and to plant crops, this is quite expensive.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the morning when I water and weed the flowers and fruits I have planted here.