GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Maseline's Profile
Maseline's family
Maseline
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Other
faceAge:
30
homeHousehold Size:
9
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
3rd Payment
Transfer Amount
48200 KES ($468 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
check
 
What did you spend your third transfer on?
I invested a larger portion of the transfer in farming activities. I paid my two children in high school fee. I also purchased foodstuffs for family consumption.
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
The difference in my life is that I now have a home. I was living at the centre where I had to pay a house rent. It was frustratuing because at times the landlord could force me out of his house when unable to pay rent.
In your opinion, what does GiveDirectly do well, and what does it not do well?
What GD does well is that it extend its support without any pay. I'm sure if it was to require some registration fee then I could have been left behind. On my side, I don't know what GD doesn't do well.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time almost 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent 18600 KES of my second transfer to buy 30 pieces of iron sheets, 8000 KES to buy timber, 8000 KES to pay school fee, 8000 KES to buy 3 goats, 2000 KES to pay transport to take the materials home, 3000 KES to buy 90 kg corn for family consumption and the remaining i spent on daily house expenses.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The biggest difference in my life is the house i have now, i have moved from rental at shopping center to my own homestead. I'm proud of this and much thanks to GD
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I paid 4,000KES school fees, spent 2,600KES on buying ironsheet, and spent the rest on groceries.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I plan to buy ironsheet, timber and nails, and build an iron roofed house for my family. I also hope to clear school fees arrears.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 6 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to spend my transfer on school fee. I also plan to build my own house at home because I am homeless.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is that my children are getting basic education because of our effort as parents.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship I face in life is lack of a good source of income. I feel frustrated because my children are frequently sent back home due to fee arrears.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the afternoon when I am at work selling doghnut and interacting with my customers because my job requires that I be happy in order to attract many customers.