chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Philemon's Profile
Philemon's family
Philemon
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Casual labor
faceAge:
43
workCampaign
Kenya Standard Remote
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
53200 KES ($482 USD)
access_time 1 month ago
check
 
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
The biggest change in my life is that I have a piece of land that I bought with my transfer so that I can start planting tomatoes, I am certain that with the water pump that I bought I will be able to irrigate my tomato farm which I am hopeful that the yields would be attractive, I am grateful for the support that I got because this would mean that I will no longer go for the casual jobs, instead, I will employ my self
In your opinion, what does GiveDirectly do well, and what does it not do well?
In my opinion, GiveDirectly does it work perfectly, they helped the needy, people's lives were transformed positively, we all praise and admire their work, I don't see anything that is not done well
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
I am a casual worker and a farmer, I am blessed with four children, The moment I received my transfer I thought of buying a water pump and pipes so that I could start irrigating my farm, Therefore I bought a parcel of land worth KES 25,000, I then used the remaining part of the transfer in buying a water pump and pipes. I am relieved that I will be able to plant tomatoes which will generate income. Thanks to GiveDirectly our lives changed to a better one
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
55000 KES ($510 USD)
access_time 4 months ago
attach_money
 
Describe the moment when you received your money. How did you feel?
I got a notification of the transfers while I was working in my neighbor's house where I was helping with the erection of a tent as he was planning a fundraiser that was to take place the same week. Four other guys I was with received the same message which brought great excitement. It was all celebration which took us almost an hour of talks and laughter as we thanked God for the great provision.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life since you started receiving payments from GiveDirectly.
Having a cow that is currently producing enough milk for my family is the biggest difference in my daily life. This has changed a lot as my children are eating healthy, and at least can't afford to miss a class of milk thrice a week. I am grateful for the changes that are currently manifesting both within my household and in my farms, as I have really improved a lot with the first transfer I received.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
I had been buying milk from my neighbor for a long period of time. Initially, a liter would be enough as my household number was not as big as it is now. With the current number, I had been buying at least two liters but only when I have money. Buying a cow with the first transfer was not an option for me as the cost of buying milk was no longer bearable. I spent 29000KES on securing a good breed currently giving us three liters in the morning and two in the evening. This has saved us the hustle and at least an easy time for my son who had always been walking over the village even during the rainy seasons in search of milk. I also spent the remaining on buying furniture, clothing that includes school uniforms, and also foodstuff after saving some with a plan to invest in poultry farming.
 
Enrolled
access_time 6 months ago
 
What does receiving this money mean to you?
Imagine having my 3 children sleeping in the same room with the goats because we do not have enough space in the house. Consequently, my children have suffered flea attacks for a long time. Receiving this money will enable me build a house for my goats so that the children can sleep in a decent environment, thus escaping potential infections. This will cost around $50 from the first transfer. With the remaining amount, I am planning to buy my own dairy cow for around $300.
What is the happiest part of your day?
I am a casual worker and my day involves waking up early at 4.00 am to trek for about one and a half hours to get to my employer's farm. I would weed a plantation of barley until 5.00 pm where I head back home. The happiest part of my day is in the evening when I get back home to have a meal and rest after a long day of scorching sun.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
When I was about 10 years old, I dropped out of primary school because my parents could not afford a fee requirement of $3, which was needed to aid payment of teachers. When I dropped out, I had to engage in casual jobs in the village to help my parents with putting food on the table. As a result of not having an education certificate, I cannot get any decent employment due to disqualification. Accordingly, this has made it difficult providing my family of 5.