chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Mercy's Profile
Mercy's family
Mercy
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Motorcycle or bicycle taxi
faceAge:
32
workCampaign
Kenya Standard Remote
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
53200 KES ($482 USD)
access_time 1 month ago
check
 
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
The future looks bright and promising with the transfer that I received from GiveDirectly, my life is different now than it would have been if I never received the transfer, in that I was able to start a goat rearing project which I am hopeful that I would be able to earn an income, I can also sell some to offset few whenever the need arises. In addition to that, I was able to buy a donkey that will assist me in carrying water from the stream. I am grateful for the support that gave me a reason to be happy, my life has been lifted to a higher level in society.
In your opinion, what does GiveDirectly do well, and what does it not do well?
GiveDirectly is changing people's lives through poverty eradication, we were all treated with respect regardless of our social or economical status, we are also thankful that we are knowledgeable of what the project entails and where the transfer came from. So far I don't see anything that is not done well.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
I am a local businesswoman in the village, commonly known as ''mama mboga'' in Swahili. I am blessed with 5 children, I also live with my relative's child who is a total orphan. School fees have been my major worry, all my children are schooling, I had used my first transfer in paying the school fees, hence I was only left with a balance of KES 5000 which I cleared with my second transfer, I then decide to settle on a goat rearing project which is easy to manage at the same time sustainable, therefore, I used KES 20,000. fetching water from the river daily is a very tiresome activity hence I bought a donkey so that it can ease the work. I then used the remaining amount in buying foodstuffs and other household items. I am grateful for the timely support that lifted my life.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
55000 KES ($510 USD)
access_time 4 months ago
attach_money
 
Describe the moment when you received your money. How did you feel?
I was in my house relaxing when I saw a message notification, in my entire life I have never received such a huge sum of money via mobile money, I was overwhelmed with joy, indeed there are still well-wishers out there who genuinely care for the needy.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life since you started receiving payments from GiveDirectly.
The biggest difference is that I was able to build a house which I was unable to build all these years because of financial constraints, we now own a decent home unlike before, I also managed to clear school fees for my child who will be joining secondary school, I am so grateful for the support I received from GiveDirectly.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
I had plans of building a house before but this was not possible due to the low income I was making from my business, and when I received my transfer I knew that this was the perfect opportunity, I used my transfer in building a spacious and better house for my family, I am so grateful to be among the beneficiaries.
 
Enrolled
access_time 6 months ago
 
What does receiving this money mean to you?
My first born son just completed his primary school education and is set to join secondary school. I have planned to spend my transfers on paying school fees for him and his siblings. Receiving this money therefore is a big boost towards my dream of giving the best education to my children.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the evening when I have accomplished all my tasks. On an average day, I do house chores in the morning and then go look for casual labor such as weeding other people's farm so that I can provide food for my 5 children. Its in the evening that I get to spend time with my family as we narrate the events of the day and this really makes me happy
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
For the past 7 years, I have not had a successful maize harvest as a result of crop diseases and drought. I am therefore forced to buy maize at a nearby market at a price of KES 100 per 2 kgs. This amount is hard to find given that we don't have a formal employment or a stable income stream. My biggest worry currently is that I may spend the little amount of money we have to plant maize because of the onset of rains and these also fail.