GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Newsfeed > Sidi's Profile
Sidi's family
Subsistence farming
Kenya Large Transfer
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
55000 KES ($361 USD)
access_time 14 days ago
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
In the coming year I want to continue with my farming efforts to ensure a good harvest that will ensure that there is food security for my family. This will mean that any other extra cash will go to school fees since education plays a pivotal role is shaping the future of for generations to come.
In your opinion, what does GiveDirectly do well, and what does it not do well?
Your strength lies in your vision of giving money directly. This has led to development of numerous new homes in my village, improving the lives of it's resident however GiveDirectly should consider in my opinion staying more in my village or rewarding those who have done well with the money
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
In the midst of a very poor living situation, my most recent transfer was dedicated to the construction of a new home. Faced with the challenges of residing in a dilapidated space with with my four children and occasionally my grandchildren, the need to provide a better became ideal. The funds were channeled into the creation of a two bedroom house, transforming adversity into a foundation for family comfort and security.
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
55000 KES ($377 USD)
access_time 3 months ago
Describe the moment when you received your money. How did you feel?
As a 62-year-old grandmother responsible for supporting a family of six, which includes my two daughters and three grandchildren, getting cash assistance from Give Directly transformed my life. I was overjoyed because I had been struggling with the daunting task of providing for my family's basic needs - from food to education and adequate clothing. Those were challenging times for both my family and me.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life since you started receiving payments from GiveDirectly.
The most significant change in my household is our heightened sense of happiness and the promise of a brighter future. With our improved living conditions in a safer and more suitable home, the absence of school debts freeing us from humiliation and distress, and the ability to have three meals a day—our lives have taken a turn for the better compared to before.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
With my initial transfer, my top priority was to settle a $150 debt for my grandchildren's school fees, ensuring they could return to school and catch up with their peers. They had been missing classes for nearly a term, and their inability to attend school was disheartening for them. Next, I invested $130 in building materials, as I have intentions to construct a new, spacious, and secure home for the entire family. Lastly, I dedicated $100 to purchase a variety of nutritious foods, ensuring we had sufficient sustenance for at least a month.
access_time 5 months ago
What do you plan to do with the cash transfer?
I have a family of three members with one being a child. He schools at Dida secondary. My husband and I do casual jobs earning approximately $50 per month which caters for school fees and medication for my son who has been suffering from liver problem for years now. He has a fees balance of $190 and this has made him sometimes miss school. I also have a grandson who has a fees balance of $350 at Dida secondary. I will use $550 to clear the school fees so that my boys can remain at school and improve their performances. I will also use $200 to take my child for further medication and the remaining amount with help me construct a one room house since the one I am using now is leaking during rains season.
What is the happiest part of your day?
I do casual jobs for survival earning approximately $20 per month which caters for school fees and medication of my son. Food shortage is also an issue in my family. We take one meal per day and sometimes go without. On May 2023 I got a job and earned $30 . I bought a bale of maize flour that sustained the family for a four days. In those four days I felt happy to my family having enough food for their meals.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
My last born son has been suffering from liver problem for some years now. He had to drop out of school the whole of last year 2022. He resumed school this year and his situation is not good still. His sickness has affected me psychological and am not happy at all.