GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Rosa's Profile
Rosa's family
Subsistence farming
homeHousehold Size:
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
Follow to be updated on Rosa's next check-in.
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($496 USD)
access_time over 4 years ago
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I built a semi-permanent house of 22 iron sheets using 35000 KES of my first lumpsum payment then I spent 4500 KES on a mattress, and dug and built a latrine using the remaining 10500 KES.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
I never had a latrine and therefore we used to go for long calls in the bush surrounding our home something that defiled our environment with poor sanitation and frequent typhoid and cholera outbreaks. This is no longer the case since I am having improved sanitation in the courtesy of GD.
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($98 USD)
access_time over 4 years ago
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I bought an oxen- plough. I also purchased foodstuffs for family consumption.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I'm planning to buy some oxen which I'll use in farming. I'm also planning to enlarge my house because it is small in size.
access_time 5 years ago
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to educate my grandchildren so that in future,they become responsible people.I am also planning to buy some cows that will aid in farming since I want a good harvest.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
I am proud to be a farmer because this is the job that has really helped me a lot because whenever I harvest my farm produce,I sell them in order to get an income that can sustain my life.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
My biggest hardship is that I am not in a position to raise enough money that can enable me educate my grandchildren properly.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the morning when I am working on my maize farm since I am sure of getting a good harvest.