chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > John's Profile
John's family
John
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
39
homeHousehold Size:
5
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on John's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($494 USD)
access_time over 4 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
When I received my first lumpsum transfer, I built a semi-permanent house of 40 iron sheets with 21000 KES, I spent 12000 KES on a heifer, I paid school fees for my 2 children with 7000 KES and the remaining 10000 KES on daily household items like food.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
I have made a step in life since I have managed to acquire a bigger house in courtesy of GD, which has improved my security of my belongings and privacy as opposed to before.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($98 USD)
access_time over 4 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent 10,000KES on paying school fees and buying text books for my children. I also paid 4,000KES debt, and bought a lamp for my childern to use when doing home work.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I find it difficult to plough my farm during planting season, I therefore plan to buy oxen to use for ploughing my farm.
 
Enrolled
access_time almost 5 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to spend my transfer on buying two cows that I will use in ploughing my farm, I will also buy five chicken that I can breed and to renovate my house by buying chairs. I will spend the remaining amount in starting a small business of selling cattle.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement I am proudest of is that previously I never had a cow but I tried my best through taking good care of my goats that I sold in order to buy a calf.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship that I face in my life is that getting food to eat is not easy and I get very little that cannot sustain my family.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is when I go out to graze my goats in the morning in our grazing land.