GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
Newsfeed > Dorine's Profile
Dorine's family
Dorine
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Shopkeeper
faceAge:
41
homeHousehold Size:
8
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Dorine's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($496 USD)
access_time 8 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
l spend 20000 kshs of the transfer to pay school fees for my child in High school, 10000 kshs for my child in collage the remaining 20000 kshs l spend to add stock to my business.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
My life has really because l am eating well being that my business is now doing well.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($98 USD)
access_time over 8 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent the entire transfer on increasing stock for my grocery shop.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I plan to pay school fees for my 3 children who are in secondary school. in secondary school
 
Enrolled
access_time over 8 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to spend my transfer on expanding our businesses as a family as my husband has a business of selling belts and socks while I have a shop, I will also spend part of the cash to pay school fees for my kids as three are in secondary school and the other one in college.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement I am proudest of is that I was able to buy chairs for my house using cash that I got from my business of shopkeeping and for this am proud.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship that I face in my life is in terms of paying school fees for my children as our income is very low and it is not able to manage the high rate of school fees for our kids.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is when I go to my shop in the morning,this makes me happy as I am able to get some cash that I can use to support my family in catering for their daily needs like food and clothes.