GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
Newsfeed > Rose's Profile
Rose's family
Rose
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Small business
faceAge:
58
homeHousehold Size:
7
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Rose's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($496 USD)
access_time 8 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I used the transfer to buy timber, poles and iron sheet for extending my house, bought my spouse a long trouser (800 KES) paid school fees (8000 KES) and saving 14000 KES.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The biggest difference is that I now have a good house, I have improved my small business and paid school fees for my child.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 8 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I used most of the transfer to cement wall of my house from outside. I also purchased family foodstuffs with the remaining portion.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I'm planning to invest a portion of the transfer in livestock. I'm also planning to cement the floor of my house because at the moment it is earth and get dusty quickly.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 8 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I have planned to pay school fees for my children,I would also like to expand my house and buy a few livestock and keep.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is that I used to have a business through which I used to educate my siblings. I have also managed to build the house I am in.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship is that I have very little income compared to my needs.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part is when am working.