chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Newsfeed > Goreti's Profile
Goreti's family
Goreti
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Casual labour
faceAge:
19
homeHousehold Size:
6
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
3rd Payment
Transfer Amount
48200 KES ($475 USD)
access_time almost 3 years ago
check
 
What did you spend your third transfer on?
I spent my second transfer on buying 2 sets of chairs at 13000 KES each,a table at 5000 KES,a bed at 4500,a goat at 2500 KES,utensils,2 sacks of maize and food.
Do you have any new goals that you didn't have before receiving the transfer?
I have a new goal of plastering my house.
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
My is life different than it would have been if I never received the transfer because I have my own house unlike before I used to stay in my co-wife's house.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($497 USD)
access_time almost 3 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent 18000 KES on 28 iron sheets, 3600 KES on nails, 8800 KES on timber, 4500 KES on a steel door, 5100 KES on labor and the rest on household items and food.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
I used to live my co wife's house but I now have my own house.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time 3 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I bought a matress, 2 blankets, a bag, a radio, and other household items.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I plan to buy building materials: ironsheet, timber and nails, and build an iron roofed house.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 3 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
We are planning to buy iron sheets, a mattress, build a house and buy household items.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement that I am proudest of is my family.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship I have is lack of proper housing.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of the day is when I wake up in the morning and do household chores.