chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Newsfeed > Solomon's Profile
Solomon's family
Solomon
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Casual labour
faceAge:
43
homeHousehold Size:
7
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Solomon's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($494 USD)
access_time almost 3 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I bought 30 iron sheets at 21,100 KES, 30 roofing poles at 4,500 KES, 30 wall poles at 4,500 KES, one still door at 7,500 KES, paid 3,500 KES labor charge, gave 3,000 KES to my wife to buy clothes and food for the children, bought two sacks of maize at 4,000 KES and one mattress at 1,800 KES.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
Am now at peace because I have house and my wife can't leave me anymore.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($98 USD)
access_time over 3 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I bought some 10 pieces of iron sheets, and also purchased building timber.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I'm planning to use a portion of the transfer to pay bride price. I'm also planning to settle my son's school fees with the remaining amount.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 3 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
We are planning to build a house,pay school fees for our child, pay dowry for my wife and start a small business.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The proudest achievement that I can think of is having educated my brothers and having a family.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship I have is lack of proper housing and a steady source of income.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of the day is when I wake up in the morning and get a job doing paid casual labour.