GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Newsfeed > Mary's Profile
Mary's family
Subsistence farming
homeHousehold Size:
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
Follow to be updated on Mary's next check-in.
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($496 USD)
access_time 8 years ago
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I bought a water tank (1,000 litres) and erected it in my compound at 20,000 KES, I bought an ox at 13,000 KES, I paid school fees balance of 4,000 KES and bought a bag of maize at 1,300 KES. I also spent 10,000 KES to buy a second-hand boat.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
I had a huge problem of getting clean drinking water, but since I bought a large water tank am now harvesting rain water and am now drinking safe water.
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 8 years ago
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent the whole amount on paying school fees for my child in secondary school.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I plan to pay school fees for my child, and buy a water tank for storing water.
access_time over 8 years ago
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to use my transfer on my son's school fee, venture into livestock farming that can enable me to educate my younger children in future.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is that I have been able to feed my family through farming.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship I have faced in life is lack of sufficient finances to comfortably educate and feed my large family because I have no reliable source of income.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the morning when I wake up before I hear any bad news that annoys me.