GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
Newsfeed > Beatrice's Profile
Beatrice's family
Beatrice
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
24
homeHousehold Size:
6
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Beatrice's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time almost 8 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
l spent 30000 KES of the transfer pay dowry, l spent 8000 KES to buy furniture, l spent 3000 KES on clothing, l bought utensils at 1200 KES, l also paid schools of 5000 KES to my child in secondary school, the remaining balance l spent to buy food.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
There was no peace between my spouse and family members because he has not paid dowry but now he has done it and everything is fine.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time 8 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent 3500 KES of my token payment on a mattress, 1500 KES on a 210L tanks then I paid 1500 KES school fees for my 3 children in a primary school and I used the remaining 3500 KES for my daily household needs.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I am planning to move to my new home and buy a cow with this upcoming lumpsum payment.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 8 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
We plan to spend the transfer to construct a bigger house. We also plan to spend the transfer to buy household items like furniture and mattress. We also plan to spend the transfer to buy a water harvesting tank which I will use to harvest rain water.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
Our proudest achievement is that we have been able to construct iron roofed house for our family.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship that we have faced in life is that we don't have a stable source of income. This makes life so unbearable to us because we sometimes go without a meal a day.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the evening when I am having supper with my family.