GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
Newsfeed > Helida's Profile
Helida's family
Helida
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
59
homeHousehold Size:
3
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
3rd Payment
Transfer Amount
48250 KES ($475 USD)
access_time almost 8 years ago
check
 
What did you spend your third transfer on?
I bought a water tank for 22000 KES, two sheep 8000 KES, school fees 5000 KES, spent 2300 KES on medication and bought utensils and food with the rest.
Do you have any new goals that you didn't have before receiving the transfer?
Yes, I started a cereal business and bought a cow as new goals that I did not have before receiving the transfer.
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
I now have a water tank that gives me clean water which I can also sell to neighbors. I have paid school fees with less difficulty and even own cows which I never had before.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time over 8 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent my first lumpsum transfer on plastering & painting my house.I also paid school fees for my grandchild and bought 2 sheep.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The biggest difference in my daily life is that I have a good house where I can accommodate my guests.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($98 USD)
access_time over 8 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
l spent larger amount of the transfer to buy 3 sheep, l also bought household items and food for the family.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
l plan to buy water tank , l also plan to pay school fee.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 8 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to buy a water tank and pay school fees for my children.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
I joined a women's group and used a loan from them to buy a lamb and some goats which I later sold at a profit, I then used the money to pay school fees for my children.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
I have a chest problem which means I cannot fend for my family like I used to earlier.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of the day is when I wake up in the morning and have Breakfast.