GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
Newsfeed > Judith's Profile
Judith's family
Judith
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Other
faceAge:
29
homeHousehold Size:
5
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Judith's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time almost 8 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I used the first lumpsum transfer in buying furniture at a cost of 18000 KES, used 28000 KES in building my compound, paid 500 KES school fee and bought bedding at 3500 KES.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
My life has improved because I was staying in rental house which we were struggling to pay for but now we have built our compound. I also didn't have any chair in my house and could borrow chairs from my neighbor whenever I had visitors.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time 8 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I bought 8 iron sheets at 4,560KES, started a grocery business with 3,000KES. I then added some amount to the remaining cash then took my disabled son to the hosp[ital for therapy.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I want to add more iron sheets to build a house, buy a cow, two sheep and some chicken.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 8 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to buy materials that I will use to build a homestead. I will also use part of the transfers to start a small business.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is having tilled my farm and after selling the produce I managed to buy household items.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship I have is lack of a steady source of income, this means that we cannot afford to build our own homestead and have to rent a place to live in.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part my day is in the evening when I can finally rest after working all day. It make me very happy when I rest and have a meal with my family.