chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Newsfeed > Moses's Profile
Moses's family
Moses
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Casual labour
faceAge:
22
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Moses's next check-in.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
55000 KES ($539 USD)
access_time 9 days ago
attach_money
 
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The biggest difference in my daily life is owning my house. I had been frustrated where I was living which was my late mother's house where my things could be disorganised because anyone could get access to the house. I also did not enjoy the freedom of staying late because the house could be locked meaning I had to wake my brother or sister in law to get the key to the house which was uncomfortable.
Describe the moment when you received your money. How did you feel?
It was around 5am when I was woken by a message from the phone. When I read it I actually found out that it was a message from GiveDirectly. I felt very happy and never went back to bed. I just decided to start taking care of the cows just to keep myself busy as I think of the blessing that I had gotten
What did you spend your first transfer on?
Staying in my late mother's house had not been easy because it came with a lot of challenges. The house was used by anyone including my sister in law could prepare meals there and this could lead to my things being disorganised which could offend me. Staying there had also reminded me that I was of age. When I received my transfer I opted to build my own house where I have acquired peace of mind at least for the first time. I also bought chairs, seats and more clothes. The remaining amount went on paying debts that I had which I could be reminded of from time to time hence branded as a liar.
 
Enrolled
access_time 3 months ago
 
What does receiving this money mean to you?
Receiving this money means that I shall be able to start a fresh a new life after a number of struggles. I shall spend the money on constructing a new house since I have been living in my mother's house since she passed away.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the afternoon when I spend my time with friends. I feel happy whenever I enjoy the company of friends.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship I face is difficulty in acquiring food for myself. I am unemployed and I do not have any reliable source of income